top of page

Foodies Guide/ Mexico City


If you are like me, one of your favorite things to do while traveling is to eat!

I love all things food, Italian, Japanese, Chinese, but Mexican food

list is definitely one of my top favorites.

I believe that the best way to know a city is to eat your way through it, so I couldn't be more excited about this new food guide series (AKA just an excuse to eat).

I am thrilled to start the series with my hometown! I often forget how wonderful and rich of flavor

Mexican food is. So if you are planning a trip down to Mexico,

and if your not maybe these places will change your mind,

get ready to eat your weight in tacos and amazing fish.

Because this is how you eat your way through Mexico.

La Gruta, Teotihuacán

La Gruta restaurant is located just minutes away from the Teotihuacan ruins,

which I will talk about more on another post ( keep an eye for that)

anyway the restaurant offers not just amazing food,

but the experience of eating in a tunnel helps you imagine

what life back then was like for the native people.

The other great thing about this restaurant is that they have two locations.

the first location is for the picky eaters, which means they will have hamburgers, pizza and

many other american foods that most people feel comfortable eating.

The second location is for the authentic Mexican food, and let me tell you to is truly authentic!

Carlos and I decided to take the waitress recommendation on a dish that had many types of meat.

For instance, it had lamb, pork, beef and chorizo (which Portuguese call Linguisa).

In my years of living in Mexico I never saw anything like! The plate was HUGE!

it was plated on a molcajete (stone tool Mexicans use to make salsa or guacamole)

the meet was spectacular, it was juicy, perfectly cooked and very nicely seasoned.

Goose Island, La Condesa

La Goose Island is definitely not a typical mexican restaurant,

as you can tell by the mac & cheese photo, but I do have to say it is one

of the best mac & cheese I've ever had and trust me I've had plenty since it was all I ate as a picky little kid.

This restaurant has great meat (sorry if you are vegan) that is very well cooked, everything from the sauces on the meat and the burger, to the bun to the meat was fantastic.

this is a very fun place to go with your family and share food, since the plating consist one one huge plate

and all the meet placed in it in the middle of the table.

I chose the chickens avocado "burrito" and I have to say it was amazing,

it was full of flavor and not greasy at all. This place was amazing American food in Mexico,

I highly recommend it.

Porfirio's, Arcos Bosque

Porfirio's is a contemporary Mexican restaurant and hands down carlos' and I favorite restaurant in this list.

Not just the food of this place was delicious, but the plating presentation and the service was phenomenal.

Carlos will forever talk about the fish he had here, it was the fish of the day

cooked on the grill marinated with lime and pineapple. I ordered regular tacos, that honestly tasted thousand times better than regular tacos,

I don't know how since they looked regular, but the taste was remarkable!

Something that definitely had my attention was the plating, each dish was so carefully plated and planned

it was obvious that these dishes meant something to the chef and they were relatable to any Mexican.

As well as, showing off the culture to foreigners, for instance in the last photo, the dish is called tacos de canasta

(basket tacos) and what makes it so beautiful is that all around Mexico you will see the same yellow basket and bike

driven by men selling tacos. It is a part of our culture that usually gets overlooked and I was very

excited to see it represented in some way.

(definitely enjoyed shutting at the ducks)

Now let me talk about their desserts!! My favorite part of any meal.

again their presentation was fantastic, the churro cart with five different sauces made with authentic Mexican ingredients was everyones favorite, we loved it!! it was cute and it

tasted delicious!

The second dessert is a very typical in Mexico.

The dessert consists in strawberries with sweet cream

(here in mexico we have sour cream and sweet cream)

in this dish the sweet cream and crushed macaroon just pair so beautifully,

it is creamy and fruity at the same time and the crunch of the macaroon adds wonderful texture to the dish.

Porfirio's is a must go if you are in Mexico City.

Helados Santa Clara

Santa Clara is the most used milk in Mexico and haven been since 1924, but

what makes this ice cram place so special besides the creaminess of their ice cream is their flavors. Some of them being Ferrero Rocher,

Chocolate la abuelita, mango and chamoy , tiramisu, red wine and many more.

These are just a few of my favorite places in Mexico City.

So stop waiting! grab your passport book a plane and come eat your way through this city!!

"Where God guides, He provides"

bottom of page